Daily Archives: April 6, 2013

DAILY CALENDAR CHALLENGE #96 – APRIL 6

Either I’m getting old and addlepated or some cosmic force has shortened with week and speeded up the arrival of weekends this year. And what kind of weekend is it? A weekend like most weekends this year … one with short shrift on the daily calendar challenges.

#1 THE ORIGAMI CALENDAR CHALLENGE – THE WATER BOMB BASE

I don’t know how this base earned its name. It’s also known as the Balloon Base. But frankly, it really doesn’t hold air or water. It is the start for folding a gazillion other origami things.DSC06398

It doesn’t take much effort to learn this one, and I hope I’ll be turning out wondrous origami projects in the coming week.DSC06400

#2 THE MENSA PUZZLE CALENDAR – SATURDAY HALF … FLIPPING OUTDSC06397a
I studied this puzzle inside/out, top to bottom, back and forth and finally came to the conclusion that the puzzle editor was indeed FLIPPING OUT by playing an April Fool’s joke on us a week late. It’s very obvious what the hidden message is by reading the first and last columns of letters. The list of words have nothing to do with the puzzle.

#3 THE PUZZLE-A-DAY CALENDAR – WORD CROSS 

DSC06404 As usual, I’m saving this puzzle so that I have something to do Sunday morning.

PICK DESSERT OF THE WEEK!

AndNow  Sometimes I like to do something that is totally, uniquely and TASTEfully different. I did not feel like cooking tonight for dinner. And since I have never ordered any type of delivery food in my life and wasn’t going to start now, I heated a can of Cream Of Tomato Soup. Yeah, I did doctor it a little by adding milk, butter and dried basil with a sprinkle of shredded parmesan on top. But that was not different at all. I wanted something SPECIAL for dessert!ChocolateVanilla

So, I unwrapped a Decadent Chocolate Nut Biscotti and crumbled it into a bowl and added two scoops of rich French Vanilla Ice Cream.

Fantabulous! 

Nothing goes better than rich chocolate and vanilla combined.

That’s my life,The Old Man

AND WELCOME TO IT!

Weekly Photo Challenge: Color

 
COLOR

 

Sometimes, Mother Nature supplies all the color you could possible want.

Tropical Orchids – Missouri Botanical Garden 2013

Photo © Arele 2013